Why I’ve been silent here…

(first published Jan 2008)

It’s going to sound silly, but here goes: I was reading an article about cancer, and it said that many people (including doctors) believe the start of cancer growth can be traced back to a traumatic/emotional time. I started to think about what was going on when I first noticed my skin cancer – it was when I first started really wrestling with myself about these adoption issues. I have no real proof that *that* is what encouraged it, but I really feel deep down that it had a hand in it.

I haven’t decided whether I wan’t to risk more skin cancer just to continue thinking about these topics. My face already looks kind of Frankensteinish…it didn’t show up in any easy to fix or easy to hide spot.

For now, I’m just going to stick a smile on my face and IGNORE the whole topic.

It's lovely to have you here. Please keep comments respectful of the adoptees who read here. "Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle."